Assam CM inaugurates Diageo’s Tapovan

In Sonitpur, Assam, Diageo India unveils Tapovan, an elder care home built with BharatCares and the state government. The facility, equipped for senior and disabled care, reflects Diageo's commitment to CSR and societal contributions, with plans for further expansion.

New Update
Assam CM inaugurates Diageo’s Tapovan

Diageo India supported the construction of an elder care home named Tapovan in Sonitpur, Assam, in collaboration with BharatCares and Government of Assam. The elder care home was inaugurated by Chief Minister of Assam, Himanta Biswa Sarma.

At the event Ashish Parikh, EVP & Chief Operating Officer, Diageo India handed over the completed project to the District Commissioner - Sonitpur in the presence of the Chief Minister of Assam. The elder care home includes facilities like bedrooms, washrooms, dining area and kitchen, recreation area and is persons with disability (PwD) friendly.

On the inauguration address, Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said, “Diageo India donated this elder care home for senior citizens, named 'Tapovan,' which is located in Sonitpur, Assam. The company provided this accommodation under its CSR fund. The District Commissioner of Sonitpur has taken the initiative and completed the construction work. The ground floor of the elder care h/ome is now complete and the first floor will be constructed soon. Expansion to other locations will be planned in the future as demand increases. The Indian Council of Child Welfare will look after the elder care home.”

Ashish Parikh, EVP & Chief Operating Officer, Diageo India said, “Over the years, Diageo India has been partnering with the state on various CSR projects. Our community initiatives are aimed at enhancing Diversity and Inclusion of underrepresented groups. Tapovan in collaboration with BharatCares is a step forward in enhancing the welfare of elderly citizens who are often a vulnerable section in our society. In addition, we will continue to drive our CSR efforts in the state in line with our Society 2030 ESG plan.”

Also present at the ceremony were Deba Kumar Mishra, District Commissioner - Sonitpur, Prithviraj Rabha, MLA-Tezpur, Dr. Lakshmi Goswami, President of Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) - Tezpur, along with other senior government officials, prominent individuals from Tezpur and members from the Diageo India and BharatCares.